,

The 3 Dresses That Got Away

There are a lot of indecisive people in the world but in my own world, I definitely the most indecisive person because tell me how it’s 7days till my civil wedding ceremony and I have nothing to wear. This wasn’t because there weren’t any options, the real issue if I’m being honest was making up my mind on what I wanted to wear.

One thing I really wanted however, was to wear a dress by a Nigerian designer {this actually wasn’t even my decision, my Mr’s suit was by a Nigerian designer so I wanted to copy him LOL}. Although I ended up not wearing a dress by a Nigerian designer {I can’t wait to share with y’all what I ended up with *screaming*}, I thought to share the 3 dresses for a contemporary bride that topped my list, incase anyone reading this is having a civil wedding soon.

THE LILY DRESS

NifaStudios 
Lily dress
Civil wedding dress
Nigerian designers to know
Emerging African designers

It was love at first sight for me when I saw this dress on my Instagram explore page. I loved it so much, I could envision how gorgeous I’d look in it but will this color fly? I didn’t know. I reached out to the woman in charge of our civil wedding dealings at the registry and she insisted that it had to be a white dress I show up in and that is how my dreams of wearing the Lily Dress by NifaStudios went down the drain.

Shop The Look

THE ITEGUN DRESS

Contemporary fashion
AbisolaOlusola 
Lagos fashion week
New York fashion week
Black designers at NewYork fashion week
African fashion designers to know
Civil wedding dress
Nigerian designers to know
Emerging African designers

After my ordeal with falling in love with a non white dress, I made sure to realign my focus and promised myself to only have eyes for white dresses {like a Nigerian man promises his wife to only have eyes for her after he has been caught cheating} but the problem is, I found that a lot of Nigerian designers don’t make white looks except they are ‘bridal’ and the ones that did, the styles didn’t really interest me. While the hunt for a dress got more intense, I got invited to an event and the guest speaker showed up in a dress I couldn’t help but swoon over, the best part? IT WAS A WHITE DRESS!!! I fought my shyness and asked for details about the dress, it was then I found out that it’s the Itegun Dress by AbisolaOlusola. I immediately ran over to their website, only to be met with a ‘PREODER’ option. Yet another lovely dress but a dead end.

Shop The Look

THE BLACK PLEATED MAXI DRESS

Contemporary fashion 
Kadiju 
Alara at Brooklyn museum
African fashion designers to know
Civil wedding dress
Nigerian designers to know
Emerging African designers

This dress was my final stop, yes I know it’s black and madam registry insisted on white but the good thing about this dress is that I could reach out easily to the brand owner about making a custom piece as they offer custom made services. I spoke to them about my ordeal and they were more than willing to help me find the perfect white fabric to make this style in because I really love it, it’s quirky, pleated and very rewear-able which is something I also really wanted. However, in the time frame of fabric sourcing and going to get my measurements taken, I found my dress!!!!! I definitely still have this black dress from Kadiju on my wish list though, perhaps a birthday dress?

Shop The Look

It’s been nearly two weeks now since my civil wedding and I’m so happy I’ve finally gotten around to writing the first post of the wedding series. I’m quite excited to share these posts with you and I hope you’re excited about them as much as I’m excited to share them with you. If you could pick a dress from this 3, which will it be? Let me know in the comments 🫶🏾

Leave a comment

Comments (

18

)

  1. Emmanuella

    The lily dress is definitely my favorite one.

    Like

    1. whyifeoma

      Girl sameeeeeeeee

      Like

      1. Emmanuella

        But would it be fit to wear as a wedding guest? 🤔 or it’s too “bridey”

        Like

      2. whyifeoma

        There’s no such thing as bridey IMO as long as you aren’t showing up in a wedding dress 😂😂😂

        Like

  2. vanessaohaha

    Ifeoma!!!!!! Congratulations 🎉 I’m excited to see the final choice and read the rest of tue posts in this series! ❤️❤️

    Like

    1. whyifeoma

      Thank you so much Vanessa!!!!

      Like

  3. Dera O

    Love the Kadiju!

    Like

    1. whyifeoma

      Safe to say I must buy it now since you like it 💃🏾💃🏾💃🏾

      Like

  4. thephlorence

    That Lily dress is a fave …. you’d have slayed in that
    congratulations again my Fave!

    Like

    1. whyifeoma

      IKRRRRR

      Like

  5. Adenike

    Def the kadiju dress for me.

    Like

    1. whyifeoma

      I will still buy it, my birthday is only a few days away 💃🏾💃🏾💃🏾

      Like

  6. Oma

    Definitely the lily dress by Nifa studios just because it’s on my wishlist also (*Two twins??*). Congratulations on the wedding and I wish you a lifetime of happiness.

    Like

    1. whyifeoma

      Amennnnnnn, thank you so much twinnie

      Like

  7. Tuke

    It’s the Kadiju one for me 😍

    Like

    1. whyifeoma

      I love love love it!!!

      Like

  8. Prisca

    The Lily dress is so pretty, it’s a shame you couldn’t get it in white but I saw the wedding dress already and I must say I’m in love

    Like

    1. whyifeoma

      I’m glad you like the dress I eventually got 💃🏾💃🏾💃🏾

      Like

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started